Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Strife - Witness A Rebirth (2012)

Some bands leave such an impression on fans that, even after two decades, their sound still resonates deep and wide. Southern California’s STRIFE is just such a band, having once again tapped into the energy that has kept listeners interested for 21 years.

Status: Active
Contact: facebook
Rock if you like: Earth Crisis - Snapcase - One King Down

Track listing:
1 -  Torn Apart
2 - Carry The Torch
3 - Show No Mercy
4 - No Apologies
5 - The Distance
6 - Never Look Back
7 - In This Defiance
8 - The Burden
9 - Look Away
10 - Face Your Failures
11 - End Of Days
12 - Life Or Death
*link removed*

we here at the_hive received this email on 5-13-13
"We have received a DMCA complaint for your blog, The_Hive. An e-mail with the details of the complaint was sent to you on May 13, 2013, and we reset the post status to "Draft"; you can edit it here. You may republish the post with the offending content and/or link(s) removed. If you believe you have the rights to post this content, you can file a counter-claim with us. For more on our DMCA policy, please click here. Thank you for your prompt attention."

Code Orange Kids - Love Is Love // Return To Dust (2012)

 Love Is Love // Return To Dust is Code Orange Kids' debut album, recorded at God City Studios by Kurt Ballou (Converge). From the first organic stick clicks of opener Flowermouth (The Leech) musical chaos explodes in every direction imaginable. As their tangle of guitars and angular percussion violently lurches about, it's apparent that Code Orange Kids are not concerned with following the predetermined path of any existing sub-genre. The band's dirges effortlessly become staccato bursts in Liars // Trudge and Nothing (The Rat), two songs with so many hairpin turns they are difficult to put into words. While adversely, songs like Colore (Into Nothing) and Calm // Breathe unfurl as beautifully layered musical expanses.

As impressive as these dynamics are, it is Code Orange Kids' untamed heaviness and emotion in the title reference songs Choices (Love Is Love) and Bloom (Return To Dust) that will leave you floored. These two mostrous beasts smear the divisions between art-rock, punk, doom, and noise in a way never heard before. Without a doubt, Love Is Love // Return To Dust is truly impressive, as much a work of art as it is an album. A shining example of the bright future that awaits the world of aggressive music.

Status: Active
Contact: facebook 
Rock if you like: Full of Hell - Birds In A Row - Loma Prieta

Track listing:
1 - Flowermouth (The Leech)
2 - Around My Neck // On My Head
3 - Sleep (I've Been Slipping)
4 - Liars // Trudge
5 - Colors (Into Nothing)
6 - Nothing (The Rat)
7 - Roots Are Certain // Sky Is Empty
8 - Choices (Love Is Love)
9 - Calm // Breathe
10 - Bloom (Return To Dust)